As if Ravello is not high up and removed enough away from the crowds; this afternoon we ventured up above Ravello to the historic hamlet of SCALA. The oldest village of the Amalfi Coast; Scala is said to have been discovered in the 4th century AD by a group of shipwrecked Romans on their way to Constantinople. The small town was utilized by the Amalfi Republic as a Bishophic for several centuries and is still to this day home to the Monastery of the Redeemer. Sitting 400 meters above the Amalfi; Scala offers absolutely stunning views as well as being a major intersection of the ancient pathway or hiking paths which connect the various towns and villages along the Amalfi Coast: It is a hiker’s paradise with well marked trails connecting small villages such as Minuta, Pontone together with Amalfi and Positano. Scala is also known for its annual Chestnut Harvest which takes place in October; the surrounding hills are full of terraced gardens and chestnut trees. At the height of its economy Scala once had in this tiny hamlet a total of 130 churches. Today there is the most important and historic Cathedral of San Lorenzo; a wonderful hiking path which leads from the center of the village all the way to the Torre di Zirro. There are very charming little hotels and wonderful apartments to rent as well as outstanding restaurants serving great local cuisine at inexpensive prices.
This twin angel (due gemelli) bronze statue is symbolic of the unique relationship that Scala has with its sister city – New York City. This unusual statue is a memorial and dedication to the tragic events in NYC which occurred on September 11th and the destruction of the Twin Towers; hence again the “Twin Angels.” Each year on Sept.11th Scala celebrates with a memorial tribute in the little piazza or town square.
The Cathedral or Duomo of San Lorenzo located in the little piazza of Scala!
The interior frescoed ceiling of The Cathedral of San Lorenzo in Scala. Original construction date is 1205.
Interior of Cathedral of San Lorenzo in Scala. Mosaic tiles were added in 1338 in dedication to the well known Rufolo Family who dominated the area around Scala and Ravello.